Another fight coming…

(Facebook post)
Hello Friends,

I have some not-so-great news to share today. So, if you are avoiding others issues to help yourself, please feel free to skip this. I am sharing or “going public” now for two reasons. The first being personally it makes it much easier for me to deal with things and not have more and more texts roll in asking what is going on. The second is I personally believe we live a shared experience, and while I love my life, there are journeys that if I can share and make someone else stronger for it, I want to do that for them.


Quick Update on health:

As some of you may have heard me talk about over the last couple months or at least noticed I have been losing weight, I have been experiencing a worsening of GI issues. During this time, we originally thought it to be stress related and maybe acid reflux/gastritis. While trying to treat that, things have gotten worse and I am now in the hospital to find out exactly what is going on. Thanks to some amazing friends and Doctors, things have been on fast forward here. Admitted yesterday because I was not able to hold food down anymore, we have already started an onslaught of tests. We are not done yet, but we do have some news and ready to move forward.

After a CT scan of my belly, there has been a 3cm mass found that is also creating a blockage, an endoscopy today confirmed both and a biopsy was also taken in the process to figure out what exactly it is now. The results will take a few days. Of course, there is a scare of my lung cancer returning, but that is not the best guess at this point. That said, it is possible that it is a cancer. So far through the scan, etc., it does not appear to have spread, which would be great news if it does turn out that way.

A surgical option is likely in my future either way.We have more tests to take, results to analyze, and decisions to make going forward, but I wanted to get this out there and be able to focus on the things I can do. Control the controllables as we say, it is all the same process, and I am ready to follow mine to get past this quickly.

Updates from here will likely be posted through my blog site of teamjeff.org , if you are wanting to be updated at all.

5 years ago I promised myself to never give up HOPE again, and I have no intention of doing so now. It’s a tough time with all that is going on, but I consider my ability to be positive in the face of anything that is thrown my way to be what I am all about, so that is my focus. We will stay positive, hold HOPE as the strength it is, and be ready to fight for everything. If cancer thought I was tough last time, I’m coming after this with everything I have to get past it and back to living my life.

Belief, Hope, and Strength…. Here we go!

One thought on “Another fight coming…

Leave a comment